Smart Phones

I could not imagine what the role of many digital platforms would be in this world if it were not for the smart phone.  Smart phones have opened up thousands of doors for innovative applications that simplify and entertain our everyday lives.  The use of maps and GPS systems have changed drastically along with the way we consume the news, weather, music, and email.  

If it were not for the smart phone silly, yet extremely popular applications such as Snapchat, Instagram, and Vine may not have ever existed.  How instacredible? I do not know what i would do without my HopStop and Google Maps to guide me around the city  on a daily basis.  I also could not imagine what it would be like to have to find wifi and whip out a computer or find a TV every time i needed the weather or news.

As wild and crazy as it sounds, there was life before smart phones.  People (including myself) lived with cell phones that could not connect to the internet.  While i was young, and naive to anything but AOL Instant Messenger and Myspace, i still could remember flipping open my phone to about 6 icons.  Now, i turn on my phone and find folders of applications that are filed away into categories in order to minimize clutter.  It truly amazes me the impact smart phones have had on society in such a short period of time.

This entry was posted in Media Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment