Mechanical Turk

For my mechanical turk experience, a user provided a grid with nine squares. A few of the squares had simple drawings and the task was to draw in the middle square what was shown in the square below it. The drawings all were done in different colors and brush sizes so I was instructed to toggle with tools at the top of the screen to adjust the pigment and size in order to match the drawing. It was simple, boring, and seemed absolutely purposeless to me. I could not imagine how such a task could help anyone with anything. The payment was $0.04 a hit which also seemed pointless to me. For that cost, I’d rather just do the simple task for free then go through the trouble of creating an account to receive payments. Next time I’ll let the user know to just consider it a favor and save him/her four cents.

This entry was posted in Mechanical Turk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment